TWP 100 Series
550 VOC Compliant
Oil Based

Restricted 36 states.
Standard Formula!
Available TWP 100 Stain Colors/Tints:
Cedartone, Honeytone
Rustic, Pecan, Redwood
Dark Oak, Prairie Gray
Driftwood Gray
Types of Surfaces:
Vertical and Horizontal Wood Siding and Decking Surfaces. All unfinished Exterior Wood.
Pricing:
$31.99 per Gallon
$154.99 per 5 Gallon
Technical Info:
29-31% Volume Solids
34-42% Solids By Weight
Normal Dry Time - 4 Hours
Flash Point – 105° F
Trans oxide Pigments - Yes
Best! TWP 1500 Series
350 Low VOC Compliant
Oil Based

Compliant for all 50 States
New and Improved Formula!
Available TWP 1500 Stain Colors/Tints:
Cedartone, Honeytone, Rustic, Pecan, Redwood, Dark Oak, Natural, Black Walnut
California Redwood
Types of Surfaces:
Vertical and Horizontal Wood Siding and Decking Surfaces. All unfinished Exterior Wood.
Pricing:
$37.99 per Gallon
$184.99 per 5 Gallon
Technical Info:
56-57% Volume Solids
61-62% Solids By Weight
Normal Dry Time - Overnight
Flash Point – 105° F
Trans oxide Pigments - Yes
TWP 200 Series
350 Low VOC Compliant
Oil Based

Compliant for all 50 States
Great for Older Dried Shingles!
Available TWP 200 Stain Colors/Tints:
Cedartone
Cal Cedar
Cedar Gold
Butternut
Types of Surfaces:
Vertical and Horizontal Cedar Shake and Shingles
Conditions Old Wood
Pricing:
No Single Gallons
$219.99 per 5 Gallon
Technical Info:
94+% Volume Solids
94-96% Solids By Weight
Normal Dry Time - Overnight
Flash Point – 105° F
Trans oxide Pigments - Yes

TWP Stain Reviews Ratings Comparison | 100 Series | 100 Series | 1500 Series

Use the chart above to compare Gemini Coating's Wood and Deck Stains. Feel free to ask any questions or to write a review or rating for TWP Wood Deck Stains below.

Write comment


Security code
Refresh

Comments   

RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting George 25:
Brand new deck -- pine - what product TWP do you recommend for the first sealing ? In shade most of the time ... want durability....live in Georgia.... thanks

Please read this: www.twpstainhelp.com/.../

100 Series after waiting until Spring.
TheSealerStore , November 27th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Paul Z.:
25 year old deck (pressure treated pine) ...... protected for the last 20 years with TWP products ....deck in great shape) live in Georgia...what product for durability would be best ..... 1500 or 200 or 100 (in cedertone). I would like to get about 3 years between sealing? Thanks

Look at the 100 Series for this deck in Georgia that is 20 years old. Make sure to prep well first.
TheSealerStore , November 27th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Brand new deck -- pine - what product TWP do you recommend for the first sealing ? In shade most of the time ... want durability....l ive in Georgia.... thanks
George 25 , November 25th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
25 year old deck (pressure treated pine) ...... protected for the last 20 years with TWP products ....deck in great shape) live in Georgia...what product for durability would be best ..... 1500 or 200 or 100 (in cedertone). I would like to get about 3 years between sealing? Thanks
Paul Z. , November 25th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting John Mathews:
I just purchased the 1500 series in dark oak. I have stripped, power washed, sanded, am about to apply the brightener, let dry and apply 2 coats of stain. I understand that the 1500 has good water resisting properties; do I need to seal the deck after staining? What would you recommend?

You do not need to nor can you apply a sealer on top of the TWP.
TheSealerStore , November 21st , 2014
  • 0
Do I need to seal?
I just purchased the 1500 series in dark oak. I have stripped, power washed, sanded, am about to apply the brightener, let dry and apply 2 coats of stain. I understand that the 1500 has good water resisting properties; do I need to seal the deck after staining? What would you recommend?

John
John Mathews , November 21st , 2014
  • 0
Do I need to seal?
I just purchased the 1500 series in dark oak. I have stripped, power washed, sanded, am about to apply the brightener, let dry and apply 2 coats of stain. I understand that the 1500 has good water resisting properties; do I need to seal the deck after staining? What would you recommend?
John Mathews , November 21st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Alabama:
I am building a 1000 square foot covered porch in central Alabama using 2" x 6" pressure treated KDAT SYP. Is TWP 100 the best stain for this application? Also, do I need to any prep before applying the stain since the boards have already been kiln dried after treatment? Thanks.

Yes you need to let the wood season for a month and prep first with the Gemini Restore Kit for prep before applying the TWP. 100 Series would be best.
TheSealerStore , November 17th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I am building a 1000 square foot covered porch in central Alabama using 2" x 6" pressure treated KDAT SYP. Is TWP 100 the best stain for this application? Also, do I need to any prep before applying the stain since the boards have already been kiln dried after treatment? Thanks.
Alabama , November 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Lance Derksen:
Curious, we have a 5-10 year old deck, built out of pressure treated lumber. It is quite grey and weathered, though no rotting. Would applying a stain now help preserve the wood? In are in a colder climate.

Yes it would preserve the wood longer. Make sure to prep by removing the gray with the Gemini Restore Kit.
TheSealerStore , October 27th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Curious, we have a 5-10 year old deck, built out of pressure treated lumber. It is quite grey and weathered, though no rotting. Would applying a stain now help preserve the wood? In are in a colder climate.
Lance Derksen , October 25th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting RK:
Which TWP stain has the lowest opacity?

Thank you

All but the gray colors have the same opacity of a semi-transparen t. The lightest colors are the Honeytones.
TheSealerStore , October 24th , 2014
  • 0
Lowest Opacity for Cedar fence?
Which TWP stain has the lowest opacity?

Thank you
RK , October 24th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Margaret Chapin:
We live western Oregon. Which series should we use on a 3 month old Port Orford cedar deck? Have we waited long enough to apply a semi-transparent stain?

You are good to go with the staining as long as you prep first with the Gemini Restore Kit first.
TheSealerStore , October 8th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We live western Oregon. Which series should we use on a 3 month old Port Orford cedar deck? Have we waited long enough to apply a semi-transparen t stain?
Margaret Chapin , October 8th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting obxal:
Follow up question:
On a newly painted house will the Restore a deck process, step 1 or step 2, discolor the painted siding or painted deck rails? Does the siding or rails have to be taped off and covered?

The Restore A Deck products do not remove paint and should not discolor either.
TheSealerStore , September 23rd , 2014
  • 0
TWP Stain Comparison
Follow up question:
On a newly painted house will the Restore a deck process, step 1 or step 2, discolor the painted siding or painted deck rails? Does the siding or rails have to be taped off and covered?
obxal , September 23rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting obxal:
I last used Readyseal Natural Cedar on my North Carolina deck 5 years ago with good results. I am intrigued that maybe TWP 1500 Pecan would be a longer lasting product for my next cleaning and sealing project coming up this fall. I normally use a bleach mixture and lightly pressure wash to clean. How would your product perform over the Readyseal?

You would need to remove the Ready Seal when using the TWP. Easily done with the Restore A Deck Stripper and light pressure washing. Use the RAD Brightener when done.
TheSealerStore , September 23rd , 2014
  • 0
TWP over Readyseal
I last used Readyseal Natural Cedar on my North Carolina deck 5 years ago with good results. I am intrigued that maybe TWP 1500 Pecan would be a longer lasting product for my next cleaning and sealing project coming up this fall. I normally use a bleach mixture and lightly pressure wash to clean. How would your product perform over the Readyseal?

Follow up question: On a newly painted house will the Restore a deck process, step 1 or step 2, discolor the painted siding or painted deck rails? Does the siding or rails have to be taped off and covered?
obxal , September 23rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Chuck Esposito:
I have an old previously stained PT wood deck which I cleaned with the homemade water/TSP/Clorox solution. Is TWP 100 suitable only for use on new wood, or is it suitable for use on my deck?

It is suitable for all wood as long as you prepped correctly and you removed the old coating. You cannot put TWP on top of a different brand and expect it to work properly.
TheSealerStore , September 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I have an old previously stained PT wood deck which I cleaned with the homemade water/TSP/Cloro x solution. Is TWP 100 suitable only for use on new wood, or is it suitable for use on my deck?
Chuck Esposito , September 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Nathan B:
What is the best semi transparent TWP product for new rough sawn cedar fence? It has been up for a month or so and I live in the Seattle area.

Use the 1500 series.
TheSealerStore , September 12th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
What is the best semi transparent TWP product for new rough sawn cedar fence? It has been up for a month or so and I live in the Seattle area.
Nathan B , September 12th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Rod Linnekin:
Can your deck stains be purchased only on-line, or do you have local distributors? I live in southeastern Virginia - can I purchase the 100 series, or must I go to the 1500 series? I am trying to match an existing deck color, on a deck at the opposite end of the house - Behr cedartone. Would your cedartone color be a close match?

You can use the 100 series in SE Virginia. You could try the Cedartone to match. We personally are an online dealer for TWP.
TheSealerStore , September 1st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Can your deck stains be purchased only on-line, or do you have local distributors? I live in southeastern Virginia - can I purchase the 100 series, or must I go to the 1500 series? I am trying to match an existing deck color, on a deck at the opposite end of the house - Behr cedartone. Would your cedartone color be a close match?
Rod Linnekin , September 1st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Denise Bosco:
We have a deck that's been previously stained with a solid, opaque stain product. Can I apply TWP 1500 over this product with good results?

No you cannot out TWP over a solid stain.
TheSealerStore , August 29th , 2014
  • 0
TWP's coverage of Existing Solid Stain
We have a deck that's been previously stained with a solid, opaque stain product. Can I apply TWP 1500 over this product with good results?
Denise Bosco , August 29th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Carole Smith:
I have a 10 year old log home that I initially stained with Thompsons waterproofer and stain in Honey Gold. It has lasted well in our harsh upstate New York weather. My builder suggested I go to a solid stain but I have read that they tend to crack and peel. I contacted the log home company that I purchased my logs from and they suggested you 1500 product. Would the 1500 product in Cedartone go over the Thompsons and give me a little darker color? If not, what would you recommend. Thank you.

You cannot apply TWP over the Thompson. You will need to remove that first. Typically a stain stripper and pressure washing will remove it. Brightener will be needed after to neutralize.
TheSealerStore , August 19th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I have a 10 year old log home that I initially stained with Thompsons waterproofer and stain in Honey Gold. It has lasted well in our harsh upstate New York weather. My builder suggested I go to a solid stain but I have read that they tend to crack and peel. I contacted the log home company that I purchased my logs from and they suggested you 1500 product. Would the 1500 product in Cedartone go over the Thompsons and give me a little darker color? If not, what would you recommend. Thank you.
Carole Smith , August 19th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting dwkisker:
With the trends in VOC restriction, if I use TWP100 now, and then, because of new restrictions, I am not able to recoat with TWP100 in a few years, will TWP 1500 be compatible? Or will I need to strip the TWP100 first?

You can either clean and recoat with the 1500 or you can strip the 100 off. Stripping 100 Series is very easy if needed.
TheSealerStore , August 15th , 2014
  • 0
100 and 1500 compatibility
With the trends in VOC restriction, if I use TWP100 now, and then, because of new restrictions, I am not able to recoat with TWP100 in a few years, will TWP 1500 be compatible? Or will I need to strip the TWP100 first?
dwkisker , August 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting John Laneir:
Have an 8 year old cedar fence that's been stained twice with Semi Transparent. Unsure of brand. Location is North Texas, thus a lot of direct sun, mild winters, 25" of rain a year.
Have about 130 linear feet.

Intend to strip and restain with a Semi Transparent color again.

Two questions...
1. Should I use a single application, or a "Wet on Wet" application?

2. Any preference between the TWP 100 versus 1500? TX allows for TWP 100, I am assuming both will work fine

Thank you in advance

1. Do the wet on wet application
2. The 1500 will give a little better UV protection.
TheSealerStore , August 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Have an 8 year old cedar fence that's been stained twice with Semi Transparent. Unsure of brand. Location is North Texas, thus a lot of direct sun, mild winters, 25" of rain a year.
Have about 130 linear feet.

Intend to strip and restain with a Semi Transparent color again.

Two questions...
1. Should I use a single application, or a "Wet on Wet" application?

2. Any preference between the TWP 100 versus 1500? TX allows for TWP 100, I am assuming both will work fine

Thank you in advance
John Laneir , August 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting bill slaughter:
can1500 be applied over a deck that has been coater with a 3/4 lindseed oil 1/4 thinner. and can i put an exterior marine boat varnish either in it or on it after application.

No you cannot apply TWP on top of the linseed oil and no you cannot add varnish into it or on top of it.
TheSealerStore , August 13th , 2014
  • 0
owner
can1500 be applied over a deck that has been coater with a 3/4 lindseed oil 1/4 thinner. and can i put an exterior marine boat varnish either in it or on it after application.
bill slaughter , August 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting depaz:
Do the color choices within the same formula have varying degrees of protection? I have a cedar deck in Seattle that I would prefer to stain either honey, cedar, or redwood. However, I would choose a darker color if that would make much difference in the length of time I could wait between restains.
Also which one, TWP 100 or TWP 1500 is considered the longest lasting stain all things being equal....weather, application, wood, color etc,?
Thanks.

Richer colors will give better UV protection from graying. Both 100 and the 1500 last about the same. 1500 might give a little longer UV protection in some cases as it does have more pigment in certain colors.
TheSealerStore , August 4th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Do the color choices within the same formula have varying degrees of protection? I have a cedar deck in Seattle that I would prefer to stain either honey, cedar, or redwood. However, I would choose a darker color if that would make much difference in the length of time I could wait between restains.
Also which one, TWP 100 or TWP 1500 is considered the longest lasting stain all things being equal....weathe r, application, wood, color etc,?
Thanks.
depaz , August 4th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Tom O.:
1i live in North Carolina (which allows 100) and my deck is in the sun most of the day. The deck is 15 years old (pressurized pine) and has been pressure washed. The wood looks like it did when I bought the house. Which is best for me (100 or 1500) and why?

Use the 1500 Series for NC as it will give better UV protection.
TheSealerStore , July 29th , 2014
  • 0
100 or 1500
1i live in North Carolina (which allows 100) and my deck is in the sun most of the day. The deck is 15 years old (pressurized pine) and has been pressure washed. The wood looks like it did when I bought the house. Which is best for me (100 or 1500) and why?
Tom O. , July 28th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Kevin B.:
We live in Central/Southwest Virginia are re-staining a deck after about 5 years. The wood is starting to show signs of aging and possibly some rotting to a few horizontal boards, which we will replace. We are going to clean and power wash the boards first, but wondered which stain would be the best to use.

Use the 1500 for this.
TheSealerStore , July 23rd , 2014
  • 0
100 or 1500?
We live in Central/Southwe st Virginia are re-staining a deck after about 5 years. The wood is starting to show signs of aging and possibly some rotting to a few horizontal boards, which we will replace. We are going to clean and power wash the boards first, but wondered which stain would be the best to use.
Kevin B. , July 23rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Sheri:
Is the 1500 series good to restain for aged cedar shakes? Also, are the stain colors true to color or do they apply lighter than color sample online?

Colors vary depending on the wood type, age of wood, application of stain, etc. Best to get samples to test colors. Yes the 1500 works well for cedar shakes.
TheSealerStore , July 23rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Is the 1500 series good to restain for aged cedar shakes? Also, are the stain colors true to color or do they apply lighter than color sample online?
Sheri , July 22nd , 2014
  • -1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
The chart above explains the difference. Basically VOC compliance for certain states.
TheSealerStore , July 21st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
What is the difference between the series 100 stain and the 1500 series stain? I noticed the $6.00 dollar difference.

Thank You
marty martinek
Marty Martinek , July 21st , 2014
  • -1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting PeteS:
Does TWP 100 come in a clear?

Yes. It is an option on the order page for the drop down color choices.
TheSealerStore , July 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting UNC Guy:
I had a deck stained using TWP last year. I am very happy. However, the deck expert said he didn't stain exterior home doors. The door is wood and it seems it was stained, so we were asking a handyman what to do about it and he said he'd use semi-transparent deck stain on it. Now I'm confused. The deck guy wouldn't stain the door and the handyman wants to use deck stain. Can anyone help me by telling me why or why not one would use deck stain on a door?

You can use a deck stain for an unfinished wood door as long as you are okay with the fact that it will not have a shine or film on top of the wood for protection from dirt and oils from hands.
TheSealerStore , July 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Samuel Fink:
I have about 670 sq ft of deck to cover. Previously stained but not for about 6 years. Heavily worn -- bare wood beginning to show through. One deck is 20 years old, the other smaller deck is 6 years old. How much of the 1500 product should I buy?

Make sure to remove the old stain first if any left. For 2 coats you will need 5-7 gallons.
TheSealerStore , July 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Does TWP 100 come in a clear?
PeteS , July 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I had a deck stained using TWP last year. I am very happy. However, the deck expert said he didn't stain exterior home doors. The door is wood and it seems it was stained, so we were asking a handyman what to do about it and he said he'd use semi-transparen t deck stain on it. Now I'm confused. The deck guy wouldn't stain the door and the handyman wants to use deck stain. Can anyone help me by telling me why or why not one would use deck stain on a door?
UNC Guy , July 13th , 2014
  • +1
coverage needs?
I have about 670 sq ft of deck to cover. Previously stained but not for about 6 years. Heavily worn -- bare wood beginning to show through. One deck is 20 years old, the other smaller deck is 6 years old. How much of the 1500 product should I buy?
Samuel Fink , July 11th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting DonB:
I built a new barn over a year ago and the board-and-batten siding and doors are hemlock/pine. What is the recommended wood stain?
Thanks!

TWP 1500 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I built a new barn over a year ago and the board-and-batte n siding and doors are hemlock/pine. What is the recommended wood stain?
Thanks!
DonB , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting NONIE:
WE HAVE A 20 YEAR OLD REDWOOD DECK. HUSBAND IS SANDING ALL THE OLD TINT OFF. WE ARE INTERESTED IN MAINTAINING THE NATURAL RED WOOD LOOK. DISLIKE THE RED TINTS WE HAVE HAD IN THE PAST. WHAT COLOR IS SUGGESTED SO WE DONT GET "FAKE" REDWOOD LOOK AND INSTEAD HAVING THE REAL REDWOOD SHINE THROUGH?

Maybe California Redwood. Might want to get some samples to test first.
TheSealerStore , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Carol:
I'm staining an old PT pine deck. Wood is split and cracked in spots. I live in KY. Do you recommend 1500 or 100 series.

Use the 1500 for older wood.
TheSealerStore , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting JPM:
I have a brand new Deck and Fence I am looking to stain...But I want it in a grey type color? Other paint swatches on the internet show a grey color with TWP but I am not seeing it on the site? Where can I get a color chart?

Only the 100 Series comes in a gray. You can see that on the web page. Please red this about new wood: www.twpstainhelp.com/.../
TheSealerStore , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
MS
WE HAVE A 20 YEAR OLD REDWOOD DECK. HUSBAND IS SANDING ALL THE OLD TINT OFF. WE ARE INTERESTED IN MAINTAINING THE NATURAL RED WOOD LOOK. DISLIKE THE RED TINTS WE HAVE HAD IN THE PAST. WHAT COLOR IS SUGGESTED SO WE DONT GET "FAKE" REDWOOD LOOK AND INSTEAD HAVING THE REAL REDWOOD SHINE THROUGH?
NONIE , July 7th , 2014
  • -1
100 vs 1500
I'm staining an old PT pine deck. Wood is split and cracked in spots. I live in KY. Do you recommend 1500 or 100 series.
Carol , July 7th , 2014
  • -1
Grey Color?
I have a brand new Deck and Fence I am looking to stain...But I want it in a grey type color? Other paint swatches on the internet show a grey color with TWP but I am not seeing it on the site? Where can I get a color chart?
JPM , July 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting J caron:
We have a teak porch deck that needs to be redone. What color stain would you recommend?

Rustic color
TheSealerStore , July 6th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We have a teak porch deck that needs to be redone. What color stain would you recommend?
J caron , July 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Kelly Mullin:
I live in Eastern Washington. We have cold, snowy winters with hot, dry summers. I have an unfinished, wood swing that has weathered and greyed. What would be the best product to use?

Use the Gemini Restore Kit for prep and the TWP 1500 series.
TheSealerStore , July 3rd , 2014
  • 0
Color Chart
Can you mail me a color chip chart of the TWP1500
6625 Hayward Court
McHenry, IL 60050
Bill Walsh , July 3rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I live in Eastern Washington. We have cold, snowy winters with hot, dry summers. I have an unfinished, wood swing that has weathered and greyed. What would be the best product to use?
Kelly Mullin , July 2nd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jean-Marc Work:
Well, Here is what Calibamboo is saying, thats why im asking. they say that this is for bamboo. if its not , you should tell them. its your product.

Bamboo Sealer
Cali Bamboo recommends sealing your privacy fence panels with WeatherGuard™ or TWP® 300 grade products. Additional colors available upon request. Light Cedar TWP®
Light Cedar TWP Bamboo Sealer Dark Oak TWP®
Dark Oak TWP Bamboo Sealer
METHOD OF APPLICATION:MIX TWPß® 300 THOROUGHLY BEFORE USING! Apply with brush, roll, spray, and wiping cloth or applicator pad. Do not apply below 50° F, if rain is anticipated with 48 hours or heavy dew is present.
DRY TIME: 48-96 hours depending on drying conditions. Drying conditions will vary greatly depending on applied film thickness and weather conditions. Multi coat applications may be "tacky" for up to 30 days. Full cure will begin when surface is tack free.
You can use the 300 series but we do not sell the 300 Series. We only sell the 1500, 100, and the 100.
TheSealerStore , July 1st , 2014
  • 0
I believe you
Well, Here is what Calibamboo is saying, thats why im asking. they say that this is for bamboo. if its not , you should tell them. its your product.

Bamboo Sealer
Cali Bamboo recommends sealing your privacy fence panels with WeatherGuard™ or TWP® 300 grade products. Additional colors available upon request. Light Cedar TWP®
Light Cedar TWP Bamboo Sealer Dark Oak TWP®
Dark Oak TWP Bamboo Sealer
METHOD OF APPLICATION:MIX TWPß® 300 THOROUGHLY BEFORE USING! Apply with brush, roll, spray, and wiping cloth or applicator pad. Do not apply below 50° F, if rain is anticipated with 48 hours or heavy dew is present.
DRY TIME: 48-96 hours depending on drying conditions. Drying conditions will vary greatly depending on applied film thickness and weather conditions. Multi coat applications may be "tacky" for up to 30 days. Full cure will begin when surface is tack free.
Jean-Marc Work , July 1st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Adam L.:
The HOA in my neighborhood has approved one stain color for decks, fences etc, which is Olympic Brand- Cedar Natural Tone, Flood Brand- CWF-UV Cedar. Can you please recommend the TWP1500 series color that is most identical to the Olympic Cedar Natural Tone color? Thank you for all of your help

TWP 1530 Natural.
TheSealerStore , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jean-Marc Work:
Then what WOULD you recommend.
do you not like bamboo??
Recommendations...

We do not sell a stain that can be used for bamboo.
TheSealerStore , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Sounds like a good product, but why don't you tell us what's in it? I don't want secret formulas or any such, but what are your basic ingredients please? Is this a linseed based oil, or a petroleum product? Mostly interested in the 100 for its mold/mildew resistance rating. I live in Western Oregon, black mildew is the main enemy of decks here. I fresh stained a new pt deck last fall with another product, looked like hell this spring, had to be power washed, was black as coal dust. Can you ship 100 to Oregon? (Oregon is almost but not quite as nastily regulated as our southern cousins.) Thanks, Tim
TLJ , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
Bamboo
Then what WOULD you recommend.
do you not like bamboo??
Recommendations...
Jean-Marc Work , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
Deck Color Comparison
The HOA in my neighborhood has approved one stain color for decks, fences etc, which is Olympic Brand- Cedar Natural Tone, Flood Brand- CWF-UV Cedar. Can you please recommend the TWP1500 series color that is most identical to the Olympic Cedar Natural Tone color? Thank you for all of your help
Adam L. , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting tcal:
We live in north Idaho (cold, wet winters and dry summers) and just built a deck out of natural cut Red Fir. The wood is not new but we sanded it to get it smooth. I'm wondering if we should use the 100 or 1500 series and what tint would bring out the natural wood colors best? Thanks.

Use the 100 Series but prep additionally with the Gemini Restore Kit first. Honeytone is the lightest color.
TheSealerStore , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Mill:
I am re-staining an older treated pine deck. Currently has coating of Behr stain in various stages of deterioration. How should I prep and which product would you recommend for re-staining?

Must remove the Behr first and by sanding or stripping it off. Use the wood brightener after removal. Stain with the 1500 or the 100 Series.
TheSealerStore , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jean-Marc Work:
Hi, We have bamboo fencing from the Cali Bamboo Company. Its a little over 6yo and really needs some love. they are recommending the 300 series, and only have 2 colors. was wondering what you would recommend (series wise) for Denver, Colorado. personally we like the the 302 color, but was wondering if the new 1500 series would be more durable.
Thank you for your time.
Jean-Marc

You cannot use the 1500 Series on bamboo.
TheSealerStore , June 30th , 2014
  • 0
100 or 1500?
We live in north Idaho (cold, wet winters and dry summers) and just built a deck out of natural cut Red Fir. The wood is not new but we sanded it to get it smooth. I'm wondering if we should use the 100 or 1500 series and what tint would bring out the natural wood colors best? Thanks.
tcal , June 29th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I am re-staining an older treated pine deck. Currently has coating of Behr stain in various stages of deterioration. How should I prep and which product would you recommend for re-staining?
Mill , June 29th , 2014
  • 0
Cali bamboo fencing
Hi, We have bamboo fencing from the Cali Bamboo Company. Its a little over 6yo and really needs some love. they are recommending the 300 series, and only have 2 colors. was wondering what you would recommend (series wise) for Denver, Colorado. personally we like the the 302 color, but was wondering if the new 1500 series would be more durable.
Thank you for your time.
Jean-Marc
Jean-Marc Work , June 29th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jared Johnson:
Have an bare older deck that is greyed. Plan on using Gemini cleaner first. Confused because stain comparison says best is 1500, yet I see 100 recommended in the comments?

Also, deck is 1,100sqft. 8 gallons for stain?

For two coats you will need about 10 gallons. For MI most use the 100 Series but you can use either.
TheSealerStore , June 29th , 2014
  • 0
Old deck in upper Michigan
Have an bare older deck that is greyed. Plan on using Gemini cleaner first. Confused because stain comparison says best is 1500, yet I see 100 recommended in the comments?

Also, deck is 1,100sqft. 8 gallons for stain?
Jared Johnson , June 28th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Dan Morrow:
I have a two-year-old cedar deck that has been stained with Penofin followed by Sikkens. The Penofin and Sikkens have been sanded completely off the horizontal surfaces. The wood on those surfaces looks like the day it was installed. The Sikkens largely remains on the vertical surfaces, though it has been sanded a bit to rough it up. It's still in pretty good shape. I am considering applying TWP 100 or 1500 to the horizontal surfaces and re-applying the Sikkens to the vertical surfaces. I don't care about color differences. How would you recommend I proceed? For example, do I need to use a cleaner and brightener for the sanded horizontal surfaces? Is there a transparent TWP product available so I can get that "wet" untreated cedar look? Shall I use TWP 100 or 1500? I live in Pittsburgh, PA.

Yes clean and strengthen the sanded horizontals surfaces. You need the 1500 for PA and the Honeytone is closest in color to a wet look.
TheSealerStore , June 25th , 2014
  • 0
Two-year-Old Cedar Deck
I have a two-year-old cedar deck that has been stained with Penofin followed by Sikkens. The Penofin and Sikkens have been sanded completely off the horizontal surfaces. The wood on those surfaces looks like the day it was installed. The Sikkens largely remains on the vertical surfaces, though it has been sanded a bit to rough it up. It's still in pretty good shape. I am considering applying TWP 100 or 1500 to the horizontal surfaces and re-applying the Sikkens to the vertical surfaces. I don't care about color differences. How would you recommend I proceed? For example, do I need to use a cleaner and brightener for the sanded horizontal surfaces? Is there a transparent TWP product available so I can get that "wet" untreated cedar look? Shall I use TWP 100 or 1500? I live in Pittsburgh, PA.
Dan Morrow , June 25th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Linda T:
I live in NW Iowa. My deck original deck is 9 years old, with an add on that is 5 years old. It has previously been stained a redwood cola. The wood is a treated pine. It has been stained every three years. The deck is approximately 600 square feet. it was pressure wash about 6 months ago. What do you recommend for additional prep and stain. Thanks

Need to remove the old stain first. Use the Restore A Deck Stain Stripper and pressure washing or sand it all off. Once removed use the 100 Series.
TheSealerStore , June 24th , 2014
  • +1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I live in NW Iowa. My deck original deck is 9 years old, with an add on that is 5 years old. It has previously been stained a redwood cola. The wood is a treated pine. It has been stained every three years. The deck is approximately 600 square feet. it was pressure wash about 6 months ago. What do you recommend for additional prep and stain. Thanks
Linda T , June 24th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting mike price:
My redwood deck is 15 years old. Due to neglect, I have replace many floor boards with pressure treated lumber. After some aging of the new boards, I am thinking of using a semi-sold stain so that the boards have a uniform look. Is my thinking correct? If so, which of your products would work for this purpose?

Thank you, Mike

We do not offer a semi-solid color in the TWP. In general you will have a hard time to get new and old wood to match the first time you are staining.
TheSealerStore , June 19th , 2014
  • 0
Semi-solid stain
My redwood deck is 15 years old. Due to neglect, I have replace many floor boards with pressure treated lumber. After some aging of the new boards, I am thinking of using a semi-sold stain so that the boards have a uniform look. Is my thinking correct? If so, which of your products would work for this purpose?

Thank you, Mike
mike price , June 19th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Kimer:
My deck is approx. 15-20 years old. I just power washed it and I need to find a good finish for it. What do you recommend. I live in Wisconsin and have about 2,000 sq ft of decking & privacy fencing that goes around a pool and hot tub. I ordered 3 sample colors in the 100 series will that work??

Yes the 100 Series would be est for this project in WI.
TheSealerStore , June 16th , 2014
  • 0
Pressure Treated Deck
My deck is approx. 15-20 years old. I just power washed it and I need to find a good finish for it. What do you recommend. I live in Wisconsin and have about 2,000 sq ft of decking & privacy fencing that goes around a pool and hot tub. I ordered 3 sample colors in the 100 series will that work??
Kimer , June 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Drew Jones:
I am going to stain a swing set and my fence is Butternut brown. I don't need five gallons so what's a comparable color choice for the 1500? Is 1500 or 100 the way to go for a swing set?

Look at the Pecan color in the 1500 Series.
TheSealerStore , June 10th , 2014
  • 0
Replacement for TWP 200 Butternut brown
I am going to stain a swing set and my fence is Butternut brown. I don't need five gallons so what's a comparable color choice for the 1500? Is 1500 or 100 the way to go for a swing set?
Drew Jones , June 10th , 2014
  • 0
Newer Deck
Hi, I'm going to buy 1500 in cedertone. My Pressure Treated Pine deck is 1 year old. Given it is only a year old I'm wondering:

1. Do I still need the Gemini cleanser and brightener?
2. How much should I apply? 1 or 2 coats?

Thanks,
Matt
MattZ , June 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jay Browne:
is the 1500 series a solid pigment stain...good coverage with one coat?

No it is a semi-transparen t stain. 1-2 coats are needed.
TheSealerStore , June 4th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
is the 1500 series a solid pigment stain...good coverage with one coat?
Jay Browne , June 3rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Bobbie Sirin:
We live in South Mississippi and want to know which stain would be best the 100 or the 1500, the deck is in full sun the majority of the time. The deck is approximately 1400 sq ft. We also have a salt water swimming pool in the center of our deck. We have cleaned the deck but need to remove the old Olympic Stain. The deck is treated pine and most of the deck is about 5 years old and the rest is new. Should we sand the whole deck once the old stain is removed for better absorption of your product or can we just use your deck brightener instead?
Thanks Bobbie

No need to sand unless you cannot get off all the the Olympic. You do need to brighten. Use the 100 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , May 31st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We live in South Mississippi and want to know which stain would be best the 100 or the 1500, the deck is in full sun the majority of the time. The deck is approximately 1400 sq ft. We also have a salt water swimming pool in the center of our deck. We have cleaned the deck but need to remove the old Olympic Stain. The deck is treated pine and most of the deck is about 5 years old and the rest is new. Should we sand the whole deck once the old stain is removed for better absorption of your product or can we just use your deck brightener instead?
Thanks Bobbie
Bobbie Sirin , May 31st , 2014
  • -1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting jeff pope:
Hello: I have a log home, on it I use sikkens log-siding which is fine.
Big deck at home and at my business...different story, sikkens SRD CEDAR 077 is junk. I'm in the process right now of cleaning/p washing and re-application.
I am considering switching..there are many options. I need to speak to someone before I make any serious mistakes. I'm ready to order. 412 496 7845 but I need to speak to a professional first.

Please call office after holiday weekend.
TheSealerStore , May 26th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Roy Carver:
Sorry about previous question. I had already decided 100 but am trying to determine which color of the 100 line would best simulate fairly new pressure treated lumber. I like the look of the pressure treated wood when it is new. Would the color "Natural" be best. Does it exist? I thought I saw it (Natural) listed as a color somewhere. If not, which stain TWP 100 color might work best for what I am looking for? Closest to natural without red tones.

Honeytone is the lightest tint. Golden color.
TheSealerStore , May 26th , 2014
  • 0
TWP first time
Hello: I have a log home, on it I use sikkens log-siding which is fine.
Big deck at home and at my business...diff erent story, sikkens SRD CEDAR 077 is junk. I'm in the process right now of cleaning/p washing and re-application.
I am considering switching..ther e are many options. I need to speak to someone before I make any serious mistakes. I'm ready to order. 412 496 7845 but I need to speak to a professional first.
jeff pope , May 25th , 2014
  • 0
Specific Color
Sorry about previous question. I had already decided 100 but am trying to determine which color of the 100 line would best simulate fairly new pressure treated lumber. I like the look of the pressure treated wood when it is new. Would the color "Natural" be best. Does it exist? I thought I saw it (Natural) listed as a color somewhere. If not, which stain TWP 100 color might work best for what I am looking for? Closest to natural without red tones.
Roy Carver , May 22nd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Roy Carver:
I was thinking of ordering a couple of samples stains but thought that someone might help me choose the correct stain. New home from last October. I like the color of pressure treated wood before it begins to fade. Would the natural 100 stain fit the bill or might you have another recommendation?
Thanks,
Roy

Use the 100 series if allowed in your stater otherwise use the 1500.
TheSealerStore , May 22nd , 2014
  • 0
100 Series Sample
I was thinking of ordering a couple of samples stains but thought that someone might help me choose the correct stain. New home from last October. I like the color of pressure treated wood before it begins to fade. Would the natural 100 stain fit the bill or might you have another recommendation?
Thanks,
Roy
Roy Carver , May 21st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting vern hausz:
We have a deck that is 20 years old and another part that is 4 years old. The older deck is dried out and split but the newer deck is in good shape. We just stripped Wolman's semi transparent stain off. What should we do next and what stain would you suggest TWP 100 or 1500? Most of the deck is in the sun although some is in the shade. We live on a lake,so some of it gets very wet. We left the Wolman's on the verticals and it is supposed to be cedar but is more an orange color. What color would you suggest to match with it?

Look at the 1530 Natural for this color to blend somewhat with the Wolman.
TheSealerStore , May 20th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We have a deck that is 20 years old and another part that is 4 years old. The older deck is dried out and split but the newer deck is in good shape. We just stripped Wolman's semi transparent stain off. What should we do next and what stain would you suggest TWP 100 or 1500? Most of the deck is in the sun although some is in the shade. We live on a lake,so some of it gets very wet. We left the Wolman's on the verticals and it is supposed to be cedar but is more an orange color. What color would you suggest to match with it?
vern hausz , May 20th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jody K:
I have a 10 year old cedar deck that has just been pressure washed. Which TWP - 100 or 1500 would you recommend? Ease of application is a concern. I have 850 Sq. FT. of decking - would one 5 gallon can be enough product? Also I have 10 stairs of pressure treated wood. I live in Oregon. Can I apply this stain after just press washing or do I need to do something else? I am thinking about the cedar tone.

Jody, the wood needs to be clean and free of previous coatings. If it is than you can stain. Use the 100 Series and apply 2 coats wet on wet application. For 850 sq. feet you will need 7-10 gallons.
TheSealerStore , May 18th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Virginia Stromberg:
I have a deck primarily in the sun in Charlottesville, Virginia. Previously used on the deck was Benjamin Moore Arbor coat. In 2 years it looks badly worn in places. I am looking for a light gray/tan - light/medium taupe. What do you recommend? Can you send me a color chart? My address is 794 Jefferson Drive, Palmyra, Va 22963

TWP does not come in a taupe color. For you to use TWP you would have to sand off the Arborcoat.
TheSealerStore , May 18th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting thendershot:
What would be the best color to use on pressure treated wood closest to the natural color? I don't really want to "stain" it to change the color but need the UV protection the clear does not offer. I like the look of natural wood. Thanks.

Honeytone is the lightest:
twpstainhelp.com/.../...
TheSealerStore , May 18th , 2014
  • 0
home owner
I have a 10 year old cedar deck that has just been pressure washed. Which TWP - 100 or 1500 would you recommend? Ease of application is a concern. I have 850 Sq. FT. of decking - would one 5 gallon can be enough product? Also I have 10 stairs of pressure treated wood. I live in Oregon. Can I apply this stain after just press washing or do I need to do something else? I am thinking about the cedar tone.
Jody K , May 17th , 2014
  • 0
stain for sunny deck
I have a deck primarily in the sun in Charlottesville , Virginia. Previously used on the deck was Benjamin Moore Arbor coat. In 2 years it looks badly worn in places. I am looking for a light gray/tan - light/medium taupe. What do you recommend? Can you send me a color chart? My address is 794 Jefferson Drive, Palmyra, Va 22963
Virginia Stromberg , May 17th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
What would be the best color to use on pressure treated wood closest to the natural color? I don't really want to "stain" it to change the color but need the UV protection the clear does not offer. I like the look of natural wood. Thanks.
thendershot , May 17th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting kevin k:
whice twp stain is best in madison wisconsin the 100 or 1500. my deck ispressure treated?

Use 100 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , May 16th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
[quote name="Kathy Gahagen"]Our 17 year old pressure treated deck was power washed, and the Cabot semi-solid stain was stripped using Jomax stain & finish deck stripper. I have also sanded using 100 grit to remove any residual finish and smooth raised grain. Which is the best TWP to apply? I'd like a lighter or natural finish but do not want to redo this again any time soon. What is your recommendation? Wood is probably pine. Live in SE USA. Full afternoon sun.
Kathy Gahagen , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
Key West Deck
Why would you recommend the TWP 1500 over 100 for full sun? Just curious the advantages of 1500 over the 100. I had pretty much decided on using the 100 and even tried a couple samples. The deck is about 1/2 in full sun and 1/2 under awning/partial shade. Just want to use the best product for our deck. Thanks again for the help.
Chip , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Our 17 year old pressure treated deck was power washed, and the Cabot semi-solid stain was stripped using Jomax stain & finish deck stripper. I have also sanded using 100 grit to remove any residual finish and smooth raised grain. Which is the best TWP to apply? I'd like a lighter or natural finish but do not want to redo this again any time soon. What is your recommendation?
Kathy Gahagen , May 15th , 2014
  • +1
100 or 1500
whice twp stain is best in madison wisconsin the 100 or 1500. my deck ispressure treated?
kevin k , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Chip:
I have a new pressure treated deck in Key West, FL, that I've let weather for approx. 6 months. The deck gets a lot of sun and is around a pool, so lots of water exposure. Would you recommend 100 or 1500 for this deck? I am planning on using Honeytone, to keep a more natural look. Deck is approx. 2400 sq. ft. How many gallons would you recommend purchasing? Thanks.

Chip, For this full sun the 1515 Honeytone would be better. Just one coat on this newer wood. 15 Gallons should be enough. This article on new wood is helpful: www.twpstainhelp.com/.../
TheSealerStore , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting R Petty:
I finally decided I was going to use TWP but I dont know what to use 100 or 1500. It will be applied to my siding on my house. The entire house is the original wood siding from 1973. Its very rough wood and its located in Oklahoma. I want to pick the best one because I will need about 25 gallons and I want it to last. From what ive read 100 seems to be the best if its allowed in your state, well its allowed in Oklahoma so is that what I should get or tbe 1500?

Thanks for any input!

Either would be fine for Ok and vertical siding. The 1500 would probably give a little better UV protection though.
TheSealerStore , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
New pressure treated deck
I have a new pressure treated deck in Key West, FL, that I've let weather for approx. 6 months. The deck gets a lot of sun and is around a pool, so lots of water exposure. Would you recommend 100 or 1500 for this deck? I am planning on using Honeytone, to keep a more natural look. Deck is approx. 2400 sq. ft. How many gallons would you recommed purchasing? Thanks.
Chip , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
TWP 100 or 1500 Wood Siding
I finally decided I was going to use TWP but I dont know what to use 100 or 1500. It will be applied to my siding on my house. Theentire house is the original wood siding from 1973. Its very rough wood and its located in Oklahoma. I want to pick the best one because I will need about 25 gallons and I want it to last. From what ive read 100 seems to be the best if its allowed in your state, well its allowed in Oklahoma so is that what I should get or tbe 1500?

Thanks for any input!
R Petty , May 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jeff Bollinger:
I live in Western NC int he mountains. I have a 10 year old PT deck floor I wish to stain. I used your stripper to get the old Cabots timber-oil off and have used your brightner. Which stain would be best...100 series or 1500 series? Thanks so much. Jeanie Bollinger

Use the 100 Series.
TheSealerStore , May 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I live in Western NC int he mountains. I have a 10 year old PT deck floor I wish to stain. I used your stripper to get the old Cabots timber-oil off and have used your brightner. Which stain would be best...100 series or 1500 series? Thanks so much. Jeanie Bollinger
Jeff Bollinger , May 13th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Jane Scheufler:
We just moved into a home in Kansas that has a nice deck that was last stained with a solid color stain in 2009. Can we use your 100 to stain our deck? The current color appears to be redwood.

You cannot use TWP on a solid color.
TheSealerStore , May 11th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We just moved into a home in Kansas that has a nice deck that was last stained with a solid color stain in 2009. Can we use your 100 to stain our deck? The current color appears to be redwood.
Jane Scheufler , May 10th , 2014
  • 0
mr
have you any outlets in the united kingdom thanks
neil mclaughlin , May 9th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Rahul, please read this about new wood:
www.twpstainhelp.com/.../

TWP is the only one that is a registered EPA wood preservative of the stains you mentioned. It will far exceed the others when it comes to longevity and mold prevention.
TheSealerStore , May 6th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We are building a new home with pressure treated cedar shingles on the siding. We would like to protect the wood, preserve the beautiful brown color, avoid mildew, and have little to no maintenance concerns. We are considering benjamin moore arbor coat, sikkens srd, and twp. Would you please explain the pros/cons between your product and the other two as well as which of the twp products you would recommend for our needs? Many thanks, Rahul
Rahul , May 6th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Greg Worden:
I am staining a 1 yr old cedar deck for the first time. I want it to look like it does when it is wet with the rich cedar color coming out. I also live in MN and have the sun beating on the deck all day long. Any advice on what the best product would be?

Closest color would be the Honeytone to a wet look.
TheSealerStore , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Brad Langreder:
We bought our house a year ago. The previous owner used TWP stain (redwood) on the cedar deck. This past winter really punished the deck. I've cleaned and power washed. Can I stain over the existing TWP with the storm shield and how many coats do you recommend? I want to use the same redwood color.

You cannot use Storm Shield over TWP. You would want to use TWP again after a good cleaning.
TheSealerStore , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
Staining over TWP
We bought our house a year ago. The previous owner used TWP stain (redwood) on the cedar deck. This past winter really punished the deck. I've cleaned and power washed. Can I stain over the existing TWP with the storm shield and how many coats do you recommend? I want to use the same redwood color.
Brad Langreder , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I am staining a 1 yr old cedar deck for the first time. I want it to look like it does when it is wet with the rich cedar color coming out. I also live in MN and have the sun beating on the deck all day long. Any advice on what the best product would be?
Greg Worden , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting David Christie:
Is the "natural" color of the TWP 1500 actually "clear" or is it a color?

Thanks,

Dave

No it is tinted:
www.twpstainhelp.com/.../
TheSealerStore , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Is the "natural" color of the TWP 1500 actually "clear" or is it a color?

Thanks,

Dave
David Christie , May 5th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
TWP is not available in any Big Box store. We can ship to you. You should remove the Cabot with the Restore A Deck Stripper and follow that with the Brightener.
TheSealerStore , May 3rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Hello,

I'm interested in purchasing TWP 1500 Stain for my deck. Is TWP located in any stores for example: Lowes, Home Depot, or Menards? If not, would I have to purchase it through your company? Also, what would be the best way to prep our deck before we stain? Our deck has been stained once before with Cabot Natural color. Cabot didn't hold up over our harsh winter.

Thank you,

Tiffany Fouts
Tiffany Fouts , May 3rd , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Kristen Ballard:
I live in Illinois, long cold winters and short hot summers. I have a cedar deck, approximately 13 years old that gets full sun and also goes around a pool. How does TWP 1500 hold up to sun and chlorine? Thanks

Kristen, TWP is fine for sun but chlorine is bleach and bleach can break down the stain.
TheSealerStore , April 28th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I live in Illinois, long cold winters and short hot summers. I have a cedar deck, approximately 13 years old that gets full sun and also goes around a pool. How does TWP 1500 hold up to sun and chlorine? Thanks
Kristen Ballard , April 28th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Mark Lynch:
In the past we have used Olympic Maximum stain for our decks. Since it has become water based we are now looking at the TWP 1501 to replace. Will this be a smooth transition?

As long as you remove the Olympic it will be okay.
TheSealerStore , April 26th , 2014
  • 0
Changeover Question
In the past we have used Olympic Maximum stain for our decks. Since it has become water based we are now looking at the TWP 1501 to replace. Will this be a smooth transition?
Mark Lynch , April 26th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Stephanie Brenneman:
We just built a house in 2012, we live in Accident Maryland. Our winters are very harsh (lots of snow, and very cold), the deck gets full sun. The wood is treated lumber. What series do you recommend?

Only the TWP 1500 Series is allowed in MD.
TheSealerStore , April 26th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
We just built a house in 2012, we live in Accident Maryland. Our winters are very harsh (lots of snow, and very cold), the deck gets full sun. The wood is treated lumber. What series do you recommend?
Stephanie Brenneman , April 26th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
John C, look at the TWP 1503 Dark Oak for this.
TheSealerStore , April 21st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I purchased a 30 year old home in Atlanta that has what looks like a treated pine deck, about 15 years old. The deck appears to have been stained 4 or 5 years ago. After professional cleaning, I would like to treat the deck with (probably 2 coats of) dark stain. The deck faces east and gets little PM sun. Would you recommend TWP 100 or 1500? Thanks!
john c wright , April 21st , 2014
  • +1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I just purchased a house in Atlanta that has what looks like a treated-pine deck. I'd like to use a dark stain (probably 2 coats) for covering wood that has probably not been stained for 4 or 5 years. The deck faces east, and gets little PM sun. After professional cleaning, would you recommend TWP 100 or 1500? Thank you.
john c wright , April 21st , 2014
  • 0
cedar deck in MI - 100 or 1500?
I have a cedar deck built 10 months ago in Michigan. I'd like to preserve it with a stain that gives most natural wood appearance. Would you recommend 100 cedartone or 1500 natural?
Steve Bursian , April 20th , 2014
  • -2
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Steve, either would be fine for Florida. More color/tint usually does means better UV protection.
TheSealerStore , April 19th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Hi, I've built a new pool deck using pressure treated southern pine. Its in south Florida and half of the deck is in full sun all day. In the summer we can get heavy rain in the afternoons, which then dries quickly because its so hot - 90+. I'm going to use either rustic or dark oak and I believe the darker color will provide better UV protection but still not sure if 100 or 1500 is best for my situation?

Thanks!
SteveT , April 18th , 2014
  • +1
re: President, RMGC, INC.
Rustic is a red color with a hint of brown. You cannot add universal color tint but you can add a different TWP color to change the color. For example, Dark Oak would brown the Rustic color. The RAD Stripper will remove the TWP.
TheSealerStore , April 18th , 2014
  • 0
President, RMGC, INC.
We just applied the TWP 1500 in Rustic on cedar shingles and redwood trim. It came out with much more red than the samples that we ordered.My client wants us to remove the stain and use another color. What's the best process to remove the newly applied stain? We tried a sample area with the stripper, followed by the brightener. When I applied a sample of the Cedar tone stain, black splotches appeared under the new stain. Can we tint the Rustic stain with universal colorant (green) to kill the red? We have purchased 35 gal. of the Rustic and it would be prohibitive to return with the shipping. Your help in resolving this would be greatly appreciated.
r mahrer , April 18th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Vince, use the 100 Series. The 200 is designed for shakes and shingle siding and roofing. Prep first with the Gemini Restore Kit.
TheSealerStore , April 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I have a 25 year old dock in Missouri. looks as if it has never been stained before. Very old, weathered and grey. Not sure whether to use the 100 or the 200? Thanks.
Vince , April 15th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Edward, look at the TWP stains, clean and brighten the wood for prep with the Gemini Restore Kit. Stain every 2-3 years by repeating the prepping process.
TheSealerStore , April 14th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Hav a house 24 feet on pilings with a treated lumber deck 3 years old on the gulf coast of Mississippi. What Stain should I use and how often should I retreat it?
Edward Lisecki MD , April 14th , 2014
  • +1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Larry, You can use the 200 Series for this. Typically reapply every 2-3 years.
TheSealerStore , April 7th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I live in marsh country along the southeast coast where houses are raised. I have treated hardwood horizontal slats as siding on the garage level that are exposed to the elements. I also have raised decks. I have been using TWP 200 series clear as I like the look of the sealant. Is this the right product to use. Also when I used to use Thompson's water seal on previous houses before I found your product, I would re-apply every 2 years. How often do you have to re-apply the Series 200 to keep the wood sealed from the elements.
Larry Henseler , April 6th , 2014
  • 0
re: 100 vs. 1500
Since this is rough wood I would suggest the TWP 1500 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , April 6th , 2014
  • 0
100 vs. 1500
We just built a "tiki" pontoon boat that is going to be permanently moored in salt water in South Florida. All of the lumber used to build the tiki structure is rough cut cedar and cedar siding. With our strong sun, would the cedartone 100 or 1500 series protect the wood and color better?
Brett I , April 6th , 2014
  • -1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Traci, since you have two different types of siding it would be best to use the 1500 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , April 1st , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Trying to figure out whether to use the 1500 or the 200 on my cedar siding/cedar shake house. House was built and stained in 1998 and hasn't been updated since. Bottom of house is cedar siding, and top is cedar shake.
Traci , April 1st , 2014
  • 0
re: Missouri Deck
For your area you should use the 100 Series. Prep first with the Gemini Restore Kit. This article will help explain newer wood: www.twpstainhelp.com/.../
TheSealerStore , March 31st , 2014
  • 0
Missouri Deck
Please advise which series to use (and why if you dont mind)
Covered ceder deck about 10 months old, never been treated. I live in Missouri and the deck is on north side of house and gets partial morning sun. thanks in advance.
Eric O , March 31st , 2014
  • -1
re: new pine deck
Leon, the 100 Series as long as your state is not on the low VOC list otherwise the 1500. Use Gemini Restore Kit for the prep.
TheSealerStore , March 30th , 2014
  • 0
new pine deck
We have a new pine deck - 6 months old. Which would you recommend the 100 series or 1500 series. Deck is in full sun most of day.
Leon Willis , March 29th , 2014
  • 0
re: Cedar Soffits
TWP is supposed to weather for 4-6 months, than prepped correctly for the prep with the Gemini Restore Kit.

Pre-staining may hinder the results. Sanding, while removing mill glaze, smooths the surface additionally, preventing proper penetration.
TheSealerStore , March 28th , 2014
  • 0
Cedar Soffits
I've got about 550 sq ft of smooth cedar T&G soffit and 700 sq ft of cedar deck, what should I use and when? I'd like to pre-stain the soffit, can I sand it to get the mill glaze off and pre-stain?
Ronski , March 28th , 2014
  • 0
re: AC2 Treated Deck in NE Iowa
Lighter colors mean less UV protection from fading then darker colors. Honeytone will fade the fastest, Make sure to prep with the Gemini Restore Kit first. Use the 1500 Series. I would suggest getting some samples from the site to test.
TheSealerStore , March 18th , 2014
  • 0
AC2 Treated Deck in NE Iowa
What product do you recommend for treated deck? Location: Northeastern Iowa; built in 2010; MicroPro™/AC2 treated wood from Menards; NEVER been treated/sealed; deck is on north side about 10' off ground of one story ranch walkout so 3/4 of deck in sun majority of the day. So that the wood grain is visible, we would like a minimal color/tint (Cedartone or Honeytone) but with maximum protection. Recommendations ? Thank you!
Jeffrey Ries , March 18th , 2014
  • 0
re; TWP stain comparison
GlendaK, look at the TWP 100 Series for this.
TheSealerStore , March 13th , 2014
  • 0
TWP stain comparison
I live in Tennessee and have 2 pressure treated pine decks. Pool deck is 2 years old and never stained, full sun. Will be professionally cleaned in 2 weeks. The other is 5 years old, part sun, part shade, never sealed. Also will be professionally cleaned in 2 weeks. I would like them to look as natural as possible. also concerned about pool chlorine on the pool deck. Suggestions?
GlendaK , March 12th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Dan, they are similar but darker or richer colors will give better UV protection. For example, the TWP 115 Honeytone is lighter then the 1515 Honeytone so in essence the 1515 would give better UV protection. The 1515 Honeytone is lighter then the 102 Redwood. One series is not always better then the other when it comes to UV protection. More of a color thing.
TheSealerStore , March 10th , 2014
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I need help in deciding My deck gets a lot of sun exposure here in Arkansas.Which is better for UV and for the color to hold up longer. TWP 100 or TWP 1500. Your on site comparison does not help in making that decision. If you have any special pricing please let me know. Thanks...Dan Martinez
Dan Martinez , March 10th , 2014
  • 0
re: altimeter
Prep with the Gemini Restore Kit and Stain with the TWP 100 Series for this in TN.
TheSealerStore , March 3rd , 2014
  • +2
altimeter
We have a deck that is in full sun all day in middle TN. Weather often over 100 degrees daytime. Deck has been stained four years ago, no stain remains. Some mildew. Lots of traffic and a large dog. What do you recommend to prep? Sod surrounds the area below the deck. What do you recommend for stain? Thank you.
altimeter , March 3rd , 2014
  • 0
re: Central AL deck suggestions
Janice, best to do in Spring. Prep first with the Gemini Restore Kit and stain with either the 100 or 1500 Series.
TheSealerStore , February 23rd , 2014
  • -1
re: Need advice on color
Try the 1501 and the 1520 Pecan. Yes the 1500 works best for fences.
TheSealerStore , February 23rd , 2014
  • 0
Central AL deck suggestions
PT Pine deck built last summer. Has not had any treatment yet. What and when should we do for the first treatment.
Janice Franklin , February 23rd , 2014
  • 0
Need advice on color
I plan to stain my new cedar picket fence. The cedar is pretty light in color, not as red as some cedar pickets I have seen. I just received today my Rustic sample. I like it, but it is a bit dark and has a bit more red hues than I want. I like a fence color to be pretty saturated, but this is a little dark.

I plan on ordering 2 more samples. What two would you suggest? Additionally, should I use the 1500 product? That's what my first sample was of.

Thanks for your advice.

d-
New Name , February 23rd , 2014
  • 0
re: Deck product NC Mtns
TWP is a semi-transparen t stain that penetrates into the wood. It does not dry on top of the wood so it does not "scratch" the surface.
TheSealerStore , February 19th , 2014
  • 0
Deck product NC Mtns
How resistant is the TWP 100 to scratches? I have 2 dogs. Is it a solid or semi- solid stain?
Ely , February 19th , 2014
  • 0
re: TWP 200
I would wait until Spring, prepping first with the Gemini Restore Kit.
TheSealerStore , February 19th , 2014
  • 0
re: Deck product-NW NC
Ely, I would suggest the 100 Series for this. Make sure to prep first so the wood is clean and free of old coatings or dirt.
TheSealerStore , February 19th , 2014
  • +1
TWP 200
I have a new PT pine deck built last year and was stained with TWP 200, 60 days later. I live in GA. I would like to apply a second coat, how long do I have to wait?
Brian Buscemi , February 19th , 2014
  • 0
Deck product-NW NC
I live in the NC mtns. We have both uncovered and covered decking.....sta ndard treated wood about 6 years old. The exposed deck area builds up a fair amount of mildew. Which of your products would you recommend for the decking and railings?
Ely , February 19th , 2014
  • 0
RE: STAINING IN THE SPRING, WHAT SHOULD I USE IN NORTHERN WI?
Sorry I did mean to say the 1500 as that is compliant for Northern VA and the 100 is not.

Durastain is not easy to remove. I would ask Wolman as to what they suggest to remove their stain.
TheSealerStore , December 10th , 2013
  • 0
RE: STAINING IN THE SPRING, WHAT SHOULD I USE IN NORTHERN WI?
Any stain strippers you would recommend? Also, just curious about why you've recommended TWP 100 over the 1500?

I forgot to mention in my previous post that the cabin is currently sided with T1-11 plywood.
Alan Kremer , December 10th , 2013
  • 0
re: Staining in the spring, what should I use in Northern WI?
We would suggest the TWP 100 Series for this. You can order small sample bottles from the website to test to color.

For you to use the TWP you would need to remove the Wolman Durastain from the wood. You cannot apply TWP on top of it. This would need to be donw with a strain stripper and or sanding. Cleaning alone with TSP will not remove Wolman Durastain.
TheSealerStore , December 9th , 2013
  • 0
Staining in the spring, what should I use in Northern WI?
Will be re-staining our cabin in Northern WI the Spring/early summer of 2014. What product would you recommend?

- cabin is in a clearing, so lots of natural light
- couple of walls have pretty direct eastern/souther n exposure
- previously stained with a cedar colored wolman dura stain (nearly 100% certain) about 5-6 years ago
- I'm planning to clean with a TSP/bleach/wate r solution. Any other surface prep recommendations?
- We haven't selected a color yet, will be cedar or a darker color. Do you have swatch books?
Alan Kremer , December 8th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
dhrenfro, you need to strip, not clean the deck. The Gemini Kit does not contain a stripper. You would need the Restore A Deck Stripper and wood brightener. You may also need to sand as you have a build up of stain. You amounts are very low. Need a total sq. footage with flooring, rails, steps, etc to give an idea.
TheSealerStore , December 2nd , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I am considering your product for my residence deck. Structure is 1400sqft PT pine plus railings and 3 three-riser steps - one stretching 15ft, built 6 years ago. PPG SunProof was the original coating, then Flood WUV. I am treating now with 'Wet&Forget' to kill algae that seems to have come in the can with the Flood. I am located in NC under a lot of oak trees. I want to do a 'honey gold' to 'cedar' color; current color is a darker cedar. It appears I will need two of the Gemini cleaning kits, 8 Gal. 100 series stain. What is your recommendation 100 vs. 1500 and is my estimate too low on product? Thank you in advance for your assistance.
dhrenfro , November 24th , 2013
  • +1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting Dpfau:
Which stain is the best performing for a deck in Georgia?

Either the 100 or the 1500 Series.
TheSealerStore , November 18th , 2013
  • 0
captain
Which stain is the best performing for a deck in Georgia?
Dpfau , November 17th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting laurie:
Hi . . . i just stained my NC mountain deck with the 1500 honeytone . . . maybe I should have used 100? . . . looks like it penetrates better . . . SO, I still have another railing with a deck of oak boards. SHould I switch to 100? Can I redo with 100 after a few years on the first deck, which is PT pine . .

Does your answer apply to the 3 questions?
laurie , November 10th , 2013
  • +1
re: 100?
Laurie, yes to both questions.
TheSealerStore , November 10th , 2013
  • 0
100?
Hi . . . i just stained my NC mountain deck with the 1500 honeytone . . . maybe I should have used 100? . . . looks like it penetrates better . . . SO, I still have another railing with a deck of oak boards. SHould I switch to 100? Can I redo with 100 after a few years on the first deck, which is PT pine . .
laurie , November 8th , 2013
  • +1
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Quoting patm2007:
Hey there,
I just ordered my sample. If I was to buy 5 or more individual gals of the 1500, can I still get the free shipping? They are easier for me to work from than a giant 5 gal bucket...
Thanks,
Patrick

Single gallons will not ship free no matter the quantity. Just 5 gallon pails.
TheSealerStore , November 5th , 2013
  • 0
5 gals = Free Shipping
Hey there,
I just ordered my sample. If I was to buy 5 or more individual gals of the 1500, can I still get the free shipping? They are easier for me to work from than a giant 5 gal bucket...
Thanks,
Patrick
patm2007 , November 4th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
JCLD, 100 Series for this deck in TN.
TheSealerStore , October 28th , 2013
  • 0
JCLD
Hello...we live in Tennessee, our cedar deck is full sun from 9 am to sundown. Very harsh light and heat. Deck is worn, 4 years old, no stain remaining. Which would be best here...100 or 1500? Also, where can I find info on what Restore A Deck is made of? Thanks much.
Altimeterblue , October 27th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Robin H, you are fine with the temperature range and we would suggest the 100 Series for this in Texas.
TheSealerStore , October 17th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Hello, I have a wood deck and also a boat dock to be re-stained (not sure of the age but approx. 10+ years old) and I was wondering which product would be the best, TWP 100 or 1500 as we are on the water? Also is it to late in the year as the temperature is in the mid/low 70's and nights low 50's Texas
Robin H , October 17th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
Dianne, please read this about new wood and TWP: www.twpstainhelp.com/.../

I would use the 1500.
TheSealerStore , October 11th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
I have a new cedar pergola in my backyard. I live in Houston texas. I am trying to figure out which stain will hold up the best in our hot and sunny summers. We also have alot of humidity. Please let me know what you recommend. When should we apply the stain?
dianne , October 10th , 2013
  • 0
RE: TWP Stain Comparison
J Condon, wait until Spring. Use the Gemini Restore Kit for the prep. Stain with the 1500 for IL.
TheSealerStore , October 10th , 2013
  • 0
Your Cart is currently empty.

Official Distributor

TWP Stains Authorized Dealer

Facebook Image

TWP Stain HELP TwpStainHelp.com

Offical Help Site for TWPStain.com

Need A TWP Sample?

SAMPLES TWP default